Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roosting Problem
Hello All!

I have been keeping Sussex hens for over ten years now and they have been an absolute dream. Recently we have come by a beautiful Bantam Cockerel (Legbar) and two bantam hens of doubtful breed (!).

Having kept them since hatching and introducing them gradually to the great outdoors, they now free range around our garden but (and here is the problem) refuse to take themselves back to their coop on a night time (even though during their 'youth' we kept them in a safe run area and they were happy to go in to their house).

Now they all roost in one of our apple trees, which wouldn't be such a bid deal of course if the cockerel didn't wake the neighbourhood up at dawn!  It is causing a bit of a problem now and I would really appreciate any suggestions on how we can get them used to going into their coop on their own.

Many Thanks

Dave Cool
I presume you've tried perching them in there after they have perched in the apple tree, or can't you reach them?
Failing that you could make a temporary run surrounding the coop so they are confined with the coop as the only available roost for a while, you'd probably need to roof or net over it to stop them flying up though, then once they are using it you could let them roam again.
Also make sure you don't have a red mite infestation which is discouraging them from using the coop - do the hens lay in there?
Never forget that life is a finite resource.

Experience is something you gain just after you needed it most.
Im having same problem with two welsummer pullets.Every night we have to pick them out of an old ark thats insecure and pop them in the shed with all the rest.
I could close the ark to stop them but dont fancy playing hunt the pullets every night, we know where they are.
Could you wing clip to see if he then cant get up into the tree?